the baby and the bathwater


History or Hope
October 20, 2009, 8:08 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I love reading church history. The fact that I didn’t do a theology degree means I missed out on all of that, and am now only beginning to catch up.

But whereas I want to read it, and understand it, and learn from it, I will run into trouble if I ever start to live in it.

I want to learn from History, but more than that I want to live in Hope.

I want to learn from the way Acts 2 church happened, but more than that I want to live in the hope of Revelation 21 church. I want to learn from the historic traditions of church worship down the centuries, but I want to sing the songs of  New Creation worship.

One of our interns recounted a dream that one of her friends had recently. In that dream, her friend – a worship leader and songwriter – found himself in heaven worshipping, and as they worshipped they began to sing a song he had composed some time before.  Incredibly excited, the worship leader went up to one of the angels and said ‘wow – you are singing one of my songs – that’s amazing’.

To which the angel replied, ‘No – that song you wrote – that was one of our songs that we let you use on Earth’

So what drives you – history, or hope?

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[Predictable quote mode: On] We learn from history that we learn nothing from history –George Bernard Shaw–

Comment by Chris

BOTH!

Comment by Naomi Lippett

so you found the caps lock then Lips….

Comment by Neil Bennetts




Leave a Reply

